Three Girls & A Guy Election Night Facebook Chat

Read as the cast shares the contents of their Facebook chat conversation on the night of the election.

8:04pm

Rick: Liberal minority govt at least

8:06pm

Jess: if the projections hold, good chance of majority.

8:09pm

Alaine: I’m just obsessed with refreshing the results websites.

8:09pm

Lea: Nooooo, don’t give the Libs a majority……..Me too Alaine haha. Sitting here drinking some cider to take the nerves off the election haha.

8:13pm

Jess: I hate to say it sugar, but it’s looking very very very possible. Haha oh jesus of course Saskatchewan and Alberta are still mostly blue

8:14pm

Alaine: Lmao sooooo blue.

8:15pm

Jess: I still think that Saskatchewan doesn’t have enough ridings. I get why they’re huge chunks but I don’t think it allows for fair representation of the vote. Maybe that’s just because my vote, and all my NDP card carrying friends’ votes always seems to get buried.

8:17pm

Rick: Sask has gone almost entirely redneck

8:18pm

Jess: Has been for a long time. Which is quite a shift from a few decades ago where they were NDP to the max.

8:19pm

Rick: *cat banging head on desk repeatedly emoticon*

8:20pm

Alaine: I love when people say “Look at what NDP did tp Alberta.” Ummm hello they were in ruins BEFORE their provincial election that’s WHY they reached out to NDP.

8:20pm

Jess: No shit, hey? Now that I live here I can tell you, the NDP hate is VERY real.

8:20pm

Alaine: Ridiculous.

8:21pm

Jess: Mmhmm. It’s like people who turned on Obama for Obama care. ISN’T THIS WHAT YOU WANTED?!

8:22pm

Lea: Pft, people in SK hate NDP too. The way rig guys talk about them, yikes.

Although Tommy Douglas was the father of universal health care here was he not??? Short memories much????

I would really love to see the FN votes sweep some orange into the mix.

8:27pm

Jess: Haha exactly! And I’ve never quite understood that strong anti-NDP sentiment. I think it relates to that reductive form of political awareness we were talking about (memes reducing a party to an unfair reduced representation of their platform). People have this idea of what the NDP is that, I think is largely uninformed.

8:29pm

Lea: I agree.

8:32pm

Jess: Welp, my riding is Conservative. But he’s actually a decent dude.

8:42pm

Alaine: Tom Mulcair lost when he pulled out of the English debate. I honestly think that was the turning point.

8:43pm

Jess: I think so. He had momentum, and at the end it all went Liberal. Nice seeing orange on the west coast though!

No Greens anywhere frown emoticon le sigh

8:43pm

Alaine: CBC says Elizabeth May is going to win in her riding.

8:44pm

Jess: Oh good! GOOD. CBC just asked a question I can’t wait to have answered. They were asking what analysts think Harper is gonna do now that he lost to Trudeau, who he considers “below him” as a competitor. Fascinating, I honestly hadn’t even thought about it

8:46pm

Alaine: LOL I’m a terrible person. I’m definitely picturing Harper crying himself to sleep tonight in a fetal position.

8:46pm

Jess: I SOOOOOO hope that happens.

8:47pm

Jess: I hope he feels crushed. Cuz he’s so high on himself, he needs to come down about 8 million pegs.

8:47pm

Alaine: Lol a lesson in humility.

8:48pm

Jess: OH MY GOD MY LIVE RESULT FEED IS FROZEN. This is NOT okay.

8:48pm

Alaine: Justin Trudeau was born during Pierre’s reign….meanwhile Harper was working in the mailroom for an oil company.

Funfact

8:50pm

Jess: Interesting!

8:51pm

Alaine: At least we can all get legally high now. Maybe I can start up the first pot brownie coffee cafe in Saskatoon

8:52pm

Jess: I’m thinking for the pod, maybe for posterity sake we should do another rundown of Liberal platform/campaign promises. Maybe compare it with the Conservatives.

8:53pm

Alaine: Maybe a quick run down. I think people are getting sick of it tbh.

8:53pm

Lea: Yeah there’s that I guess Lol. Good idea Jess. And yup, Elizabeth May won in her riding.

8:54pm

Jess: Just a genuinely quick reminder. I can do it. I was one of 673 people to vote Green here. We had over 15000 voters in my riding

8:56pm

Alaine: 673 is a lot though!

8:56pm

Jess: I’m actually pretty happy. And happy with my vote, after the fact.

8:56pm

Alaine: Green will gain momentum.

8:57pm

Lea: hope so. My riding was overwhelmingly blue /blech

9:03pm

Jess: Oh my god, everyone, we interviewed our Conservative MP as part of our radio coverage tonight. He’s pretty f**king legit. It’s hard to admit, but he’s definitely the best candidate for this riding.

9:04pm

Alaine: Can we listen to it?

9:04pm

Jess: I don’t think so :S I don’t have access to the logger, or any of our newsroom content frown emoticon

9:05pm

Alaine: Dang

9:06pm

Jess: This is an interesting feeling. Oh my god Harper’s coming on the CBC soon!

9:13pm

Rick: I feel bad for Harper….

9:13pm

Alaine: He had a good run.

9:15pm

Rick: He did. Then he had to be put down.

9:16pm

Alaine: Lol. That’s what happens when you’re not winning races. Take him behind the old barn shed.

9:16pm

Jess: Haha! oh myyy

9:17pm

Rick: I keep playing the ‘ding dong the witch is dead’ song in my head….sort of fixated on it like Mozart was on the high E note.

9:18pm

Lea: I didn’t think I’d be excited as I was when Jack Layton was running but I didn’t expect I’d be this disappointed, either. I really thought the NDP had a better chance.. I really hope Justin isn’t as bad as my gut tells me..

BUT. Harper is gone. Which is the main thing.

9:19pm

Jess: Yeah I’m celebrating…and then waiting to see what Trueau will do

9:19pm

Lea: I don’t think /he’s/ bad, I just don’t think the Liberals are as big a change as everyone thinks. Which, like you and I have already noted and discussed, is exactly why so many votes went their way.

9:20pm

Jess: Yep. I’m hoping it’s a small step in the right direction. Although with a Conservative opposition, I think it will indeed be a small step.

9:21pm

Alaine: It was truly an amazing campaign. Trudeau rolled up his sleeves and worked really hard the entire time. Sometimes people who you would think would be entitled actually strive harder to prove that they are worth supporting. I hope this is the case

9:22pm

Lea: I think alaine, in particular, would enjoy this

image

9:22pm

Alaine: Bonus: he is easy on the eyes

9:22pm

Lea: Yeah he certainly is good looking.

9:22pm

Jess: Haha it’s true. Can’t deny it. I’m feeling fairly optimistic, too. I like his personal character. We’ll see if he holds up when it comes down to the tough stuff

9:22pm

Alaine: Love it.

9:23pm

Rick: NDP were never really in contention. People weren’t supporting them out of conviction so much as to bloc the Conservatives.

9:23pm

Alaine: I just don’t think Mulcair was a strong enough leader. He wasn’t inspiring.

9:24pm

Lea: They were in contention though, they were the opposition until Mulcair dropped out of the debate. And yeah.. I think it’s super hard to follow after someone like Jack Layton.

F**k I wish he would’ve lived and served this country. I truly believed in him.

9:25pm

Jess: That’s something else that I’m hoping comes up tomorrow. What do you think would have happen if he hadn’t died?

Cuz he had GENUINE momentum when he died.

9:25pm

Alaine: Layton was a leader you could love and believe in. Man I adored that guy.

9:25pm

Lea: Yeah he really did. Me too Alaine.

9:26pm

Jess: I think we’d be looking at a VERY different situation if he were here.

9:26pm

Rick: They were in contention due to circumstances. Circumstances changed and they disappeared.

However, Layton still around and we might have a different outcome. Layton certainly would have been seen as the better choice between he and Trudeau.

9:27pm

Alaine: I remember watching Layton on YTV when I was young, he was taking the time to play some silly games and just talking to kids about how important they are. It really made an impact on me.

9:28pm

Jess: I was late to the game in following Latyon. I think he could have inspired me to actually join the NDP party though with enough time. I kind of feel bad for Mulcair, cuz how do you step into that?!

9:28pm

Alaine: Lose weight. Shave.

My grandma always said “Never trust a fat politician. ”

9:29pm

Rick: He has no pupils.

9:29pm

Alaine: Hahaha

9:29pm

Rick: Mulcair has horse eyes.

9:30pm

Lea: I think we wouldn’t have embarrassed ourselves globally quite as much with Layton!

9:30pm

Rick: Ever seen Pinhead from Hell Raiser? That’s Mulcair.

9:30pm

Alaine: I read one attack ad “What’s he hiding behind that beard.” Lmao

9:30pm

Rick: Heh.

9:30pm

Jess: You’re right. Mulcair’s eyes are weird. And unnerving.

9:31pm

Rick: My wife thought he has the weirdest smile. He couldn’t smile–so wooden.

9:31pm

Alaine: I think they tried to make him look kind but I always thought he had “beady little eyes.”

9:31pm

Jess: Yep. It was weird. His lack of charisma sure didn’t help him.

9:31pm

Alaine: Oh he’s on now

9:32pm

Lea: Mulcair is way more normal looking than Harper. Like srsly.

9:32pm

Alaine: Hey he mentioned Saskatoon.

9:32pm

Jess: Cuz of that SINGLE NDP riding in the prairies

9:33pm

Rick: I am making eye contact with Mulcair….and I feel my soul being sucked into the television.

9:33pm

Jess: Haha not as much as it would if you were doing that with Harper. Mulcair makes me uneasy. Harper gives me the chills

9:33pm

Alaine: Mulcair could sell used cars to grandmothers.

9:33pm

Jess: Do you know what kinda sucks though. I find him well-spoken. Just the rhetoric is delivered from that weird face.

9:34pm

Rick: Harper is whiter than me. That’s saying something.

9:34pm

Jess: Bahaha!

9:34pm

Rick: Mulcair is a good man. Just is leading a party with a lot of historical baggage.

9:34pm

Jess: Mmhmm. I generally like him.

9:35pm

Alaine: Mulcair has a nice voice. If I had to give him a compliment.

9:35pm

Rick: Only girls text mmmhmmmm. I have noticed.

Why is that?

9:36pm

Jess: I donno. I kinda text like I talk. I use mmhmm. It’s a mild, appeasing form of agreement.

9:37pm

Rick: I think it is cool. More of a ‘socially’ conducive way of speaking compared to just text and emojis alone.

I am going to publish this conversation tonight to the blog with your permission. For context and content. Plus you guys are dorks…

———————–

image

