Wonder’s Return

“Ours is a time that would have sent the Greeks to their oracles. We fail at our own peril to consult our own.”

Harold Goddard

The older you get the more you learn about yourself (or so some say that is the way of it). Surprisingly I find myself currently on the other side of reason despite my genuine love for logic, rule of law, intellectual honesty, and the practical application of knowledge.
I am excited because a whole new organ of perception, as Goethe observes, has re-opened before me. Though I will continue to consult oracles–science, history, honest inquiry, objectivity, books, experience and curiosity–I think my allegiance is returning to that youthful and exuberant hand-maiden of reason known as ‘wonder’ (and with that reality is suddenly pregnant with possibilities again because I have finally given up the desire for certainty).

Leave a Reply

